The Birds and the FBs

16 Jan

Well hello there! Image Credits: Morning Stretch by merlin1075

At the start of another semester of university, I am realizing again just how much of a role social media play in the lives of students. I once heard someone describe their view of social media as their “happy playground,” to escape. But for most, social media sites, with Twitter and Facebook taking the lead, are more than mindless status updates or photos from last weekend. They are methods  of conducting business, advertising, arranging and holding conferences, sharing ideas, testing new markets, and development. For students, it is less of a “happy playground” and more of a “starting ground,” for professionalism in new media.

Every week, I use Facebook, update my blogs, e-mail and skype my sisters, log on to Groupon, download an app, and watch a Youtube video. I have a Twitter account, though I am not as frequent of a tweeter as I used to be, and every once in a while I listen to a podcast. I use social media for just keeping in touch and sharing inside jokes with friends, find deals, discover new places, get my news, and to have a little fun and share quirky, creative ideas on sites such as Pinterest. I started blogging for a class and ended up falling in love with it. I keep four blogs for my own entertainment as well as practice for journalism.

In a speed-of-light society, the social media has made it so simple to share information quickly, efficiently, and easily. My generation will be the last to remember a time before social media took off (floppy disk, anyone?) Social media interaction has its own code of etiquette and “way of life,” so to speak. It is multi-faceted with different “beats,” and character online should be conducted accordingly. And hey, maybe this site will help us improve our tact at a face-to-face dinner interaction after a social media meeting. Mrs. Manners once said, “If you can’t thing of anything polite to say, be vague.” But now she might say, “If you can’t say anything nice, don’t Tweet it!”

Image from pinterest.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PS- while the social media are swift, often business appropriate, and easy to personalize, it is still nice to send a hand-written note every once in a while, too. Another benefit of the social media? The written word has become more rare, therefore increasing its value.

 

3 Responses to “The Birds and the FBs”

  1. ertelg January 17, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    Until I had to write this post I didn’t realize HOW MUCH social media consumes my life. Although I am not proud of it… There is not much I can do since it is what I want to do with my life. I guess we are going on the right track!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog comments « A Marry Heart - January 17, 2012

    […] Erica Earl- Erica Earl Journalism- 1/17/12Until I had to write this post I didn’t realize HOW MUCH […]

  2. Blog comments- peer « Eliza says… - February 28, 2012

    […] 1. Erica Earl- The Birds and the FBs- 1/17/12Until I had to write this post I didn’t realize HOW MUCH social media consumes my life. Although I am not proud of it… There is not much I can do since it is what I want to do with my life. I guess we are going on the right track! […]

Leave a Reply

